Evans, Cassidy and Vandoorne hit with grid penalties for Mexico City E-Prix

Join Formula E

Sign in or create your Formula E account

It's quick, easy and free to sign up

You'll get access to:

  • Helmet

    News. Analysis. Exclusive Features

  • Schedule

    Priority Booking. Early Bird Pricing

  • Trophy

    Competitions. Discounts. Experiences

  • Podium

    Predict. Vote. Win.


You will need to sign in or create a Formula E account.

Evans, Cassidy and Vandoorne hit with grid penalties for Mexico City E-Prix

The trio were found to breach the sporting regulations during yesterday's first practice session.


Both Jaguar TCS Racing drivers and DS PENSKE’s Stoffel Vandoorne have been handed respective one-place grid penalties for not following red flag procedure during Free Practice 1. 

Maserati MSG Racing’s Maximilian Guenther brought out an early red flag during the first practice session of the weekend, as he lost control of his car coming out of the final corner. Pulling to a stop on the start-finish straight, the Maserati driver sustained damage to his rear-left suspension and needed to be removed by a recovery vehicle. 


During this time, all cars need to return to the pit lane and be placed into their garage. However, for Jaguar’s Mitch Evans and Nick Cassidy plus Vandoorne, the FIA believe this wasn’t done correctly. 

The decision to penalised was due to being in breach of Article 31.5 of 2023/2024 FIA Formula E World Championship Sporting Regulations, which states that when going back to the pit lane during the Red Flag procedure, the car(s) did not enter into its garage.

All the drivers have looked quick so far this weekend, with Evans topping FP2. Cassidy finished the 30-minute session in fourth with Vandoorne in fifth. 

Where, when and how to watch or stream the 2024 Hankook Mexico City E-Prix

It's now race day on Saturday 13 January with qualifying at 09:40 as the field of 22 drivers battle for the Julius Baer Pole Position to get the best start to the opening round of Season 10 when the lights go out at 14:00 local/20:00 UTC.

View the full schedule in your time zone and check the broadcaster listings or tap the Ways to Watch button above to find out where to watch all the racing action where you live.