MEXICO CITY FACTS AND STATS: Race-winning margins and a lap led every season

Join Formula E

Sign in or create your Formula E account

It's quick, easy and free to sign up

You'll get access to:

  • Helmet

    News. Analysis. Exclusive Features

  • Schedule

    Priority Booking. Early Bird Pricing

  • Trophy

    Competitions. Discounts. Experiences

  • Podium

    Predict. Vote. Win.


You will need to sign in or create a Formula E account.

MEXICO CITY FACTS AND STATS: Race-winning margins and a lap led every season

How often does the winner of the season opener take the title? Jake Dennis was dominant in Mexico City, but just how dominant? Let's take a look at the facts and stats from Mexico City and find out!

Jake Dennis wins in Mexico
  • Andretti won the first GEN2 race in Diriyah, with Antonio Felix da Costa sealing victory for BMW i Andretti Motorsport. Jake Dennis ensured they'd start this new GEN3 era in the best possible fashion, too, with the win for Avalanche Andretti in Mexico City
  • It was two Porsche powertrains in the top two for the second consecutive outing in Mexico City with Dennis heading home the factory Porsche of Pascal Wehrlein this time around
  • Dennis' win made him the 16th driver to lead the Formula E standings
  • That said, winning the opener is rarely a sign of things to come. Sebastien Buemi in 2015/16 was the only Formula E champion that won the first round of the campaign
  • The winning margin of 7.816s is the seventh largest of all-time in the series and the biggest since Nyck de Vries' Valencia victory in Season 7 (13.128s)
  • Dennis' TAG Heuer Fastest Lap made it 10 bonus points in five starts for the Brit
Dennis wins in Mexico
  • Mexico also marked Andretti's second-best single race points haul, at 38 points. Only London last season, where Dennis won and Oliver Askew came home fourth, bettered this
  • For the first time in their history, Andretti has not elected to use both 27 and 28 as their driver numbers. In Season 9, Jake Dennis keeps 27, but with Andre Lotterer joining the team he brings number 36
  • The Season 9 Mexico City E-Prix is the first race in Mexico to have been held in January, with races being previously held in February, March, April and June
  • Avalanche Andretti drivers topped both Group A (Lotterer) and Group B (Dennis) in qualifying. The only previous instance that this has happened since Formula E adopted a two-group format was at the Season 8 Mexico City E-Prix (with Porsche)
  • As a result of claiming his fourth Formula E pole, Lucas di Grassi ended a 68-round streak without securing Julius Baer Pole Position
  • Di Grassi's podium was the first for Mahindra in Mexico City, despite the team sitting on Julius Baer Pole Position on three prior occasions
  • The Brazilian's trip to the rostrum equalled Mahindra's Season 8 podium tally - Alexander Sims' second spot in Seoul
  • Having completed every lap of the last 31 E-Prix, Robin Frijns retired on Lap 1, which was his first retirement since the 2020 Berlin E-Prix
Di Grassi pole Mexico City
  • Each of Jake Dennis’ wins have come having started on the front row. Dennis has converted four out of seven front row starts into a win
  • Last time Andretti won the opening race of a season (and the opening race of GEN2 in Season 5) they failed to win again during the season and only took a further four podiums, on their way to finishing fifth in the Teams’ standings
  • Even though he is only entering his third Formula E season, Jake Dennis already has four wins. This puts him eighth equal in terms of all time wins (level with Season 7 champion Nyck de Vries)
  • With the 30 laps Dennis led in Mexico City, Avalanche Andretti have now led a lap in all nine Formula E season. Only Envision Racing could equal this record in Season 9 if they lead a lap this season
  • DS PENSKE came into Mexico as many people’s favourites, however they only left Mexico City with just one point. However, DS don’t have the best track record in opening races, having only scored four points across the last three opening races when powering Techeetah
  • Porsche picked up 24 points in Mexico City with a second and seventh place finish, their highest scoring single race since the last Mexico City E-Prix
  • In Mexico City, Lucas di Grassi shared a Formula E podium for the first time with Pascal Wehrlein. The Season 3 champion has now shared the podium with 23 different drivers, which is an outright record
  • Oliver Rowland gained nine places in the races (finishing 13th after starting last), which was the most of any driver. This is the most positions the British driver has gained in a race since the Race 1 of the Season 6 Berlin E-Prix
  • Andre Lotter is now the 14th driver to have scored points for Andretti. The next highest teams, Mahindra and DS PENSKE, both had their tenth driver score points for them, with Lucas di Grassi and Stoffel Vandoorne, respectively, scoring in Mexico City
  • Mahindra Racing has led laps in the opening race of the season for the first time (becoming the ninth team to do so)
  • Due to di Grassi’s defensive skills at the end of the race, the gap between race winner, Jake Dennis, and third place was 18.611 seconds which is the fifth biggest gap between first and third in Formula E history. Three of the other instances came in Season 2 (Putrajaya, Mexico City and Race 2 in London) along with Race 1 of the Season 7 Valencia E-Prix
  • Andre Lotterer ran in the top six for the first time in the last seven rounds. His fourth-placed finish was his best since Berlin in Season 8
  • Edo Mortara was pointless for the fourth time in five races, winning the other in Seoul
  • Mortara had also never finished below eighth in four previous Mexico City E-Prix. His Turn 1 spin ended that run, and his race
  • Pascal Wehrlein had never scored multiple podium finishes at an event. He won here in Season 8
  • TAG Heuer Porsche's only podiums in Season 8 came in Mexico City via that one-two. Wehrlein made sure Mexico provided its first silverware of Season 9
  • Sebastien Buemi's sixth spot matched his Season 8 best at the first time of asking, achieved twice last season