FACTS AND STATS: Overtaking aplenty, record speeds and fine margins in Brazil

Join Formula E

Sign in or create your Formula E account

It's quick, easy and free to sign up

You'll get access to:

  • Helmet

    News. Analysis. Exclusive Features

  • Schedule

    Priority Booking. Early Bird Pricing

  • Trophy

    Competitions. Discounts. Experiences

  • Podium

    Predict. Vote. Win.


You will need to sign in or create a Formula E account.

FACTS AND STATS: Overtaking aplenty, record speeds and fine margins in Brazil

Our first trip to Brazil threw up another storming race weekend at a third new location on the bounce. There were ludicrous overtaking numbers, more record breaking speeds and a race win by the finest margin. Here's São Paulo in numbers.

Sao Paulo podium crowd Formula E

Quali constants

- In reaching the Duels Final for the first time in Season 9, both Stoffel Vandoorne and Antonio Felix da Costa showed supreme consistency. Vandoorne’s times were all within 0.025 seconds (1m11.920s in the Quarters, 1m11.929s in the Semis and 1m11.904s in the Final). Da Costa set identical times in both the Quarters and Semis (1m11.982s). His Final time which was just 0.015 seconds quicker

- Jake Dennis has outqualified his teammate in each of the last 10 E-Prix (becoming just the seventh driver to do so). Five drivers to achieve this are Formula E champions (Nelson Piquet Jr., Sebastien Buemi, Lucas di Grassi, Jean-Eric Vergne and da Costa) with Sergio Sette Camara the other

- Vergne and Buemi currently hold the record, having outqualified their teammates 13 times in a row. Vergne achieved this in Season 2 and Season 3 and Buemi set the streak in Season 4 and Season 5

- Vandoorne, da Costa and Mitch Evans join a group of five drivers (which includes Vergne and Wehrlein) who have reached the Duels in ten different cities. No driver has yet reached the Duels in 11 cities. Evans is the only one who didn’t reach the Duels last season in Berlin, so has a chance of taking the record outright at the next race


Outrageous overtaking and the finest margins

- São Paulo saw 114 overtakes (more than three per lap). There were also 11 lead changes: Vandoorne, da Costa, Nick Cassidy and Evans all hit the front

- For the ninth race in a row the polesitter has failed to convert the win. Across the six races so far in Season 9, polesitters have only picked up 45 points for their finishing positions. This is even less than the drivers that have started in ninth (65 points, including a win in Diriyah), started in tenth (47 points) and started in 11th (46 points)

- In one of the closest finishes in Formula E history, just 0.507 seconds separated the top three drivers at the end of the race. This was just the seventh race in which the top three drivers were separated by less than a second at the chequered flag, with the previous being the Jakarta E-Prix, Season 8 (a race which was also won by Evans)

- Five of Evans’ seven wins (71%) in Formula E have been won by less than one second. Only two drivers have claimed a higher percentage of their wins by less one second. Vergne has eight of 11 wins (73%) and Alex Lynn claimed his only Formula E victory in London, Season 7 by just 0.599 seconds


- Conversely, all four of Jake Dennis’ race wins have been won by more than a second. Every other driver with at least four victories has won by less than one second at least once. Of Dennis’ four wins, the closest winning margin was at was Race 2 of the Valencia E-Prix in Season 7, which was won by 1.483 seconds

- The last two E-Prix have seen almost identical winning margins, with da Costa winning in Cape Town by 0.281 seconds and Evans winning in Sao Paulo by 0.284 seconds

Rapid racing

- Sergio Sette Camara set the fastest top speed in a Formula E race to-date (264.1km/h)

Top speeds

- Cape Town was still quicker on average, though, producing the fastest ever pole lap at the hands of Sacha Fenestraz and the fastest average race speed thanks to winner da Costa

Jag bounces back

- Evans led eight laps in São Paulo, making the Kiwi the seventh driver to have led over 500 kilometres in Formula E

- Sam Bird claimed his ninth TAG Heuer Fastest Lap of his Formula E career, which puts him second in the all-time tally. Bird is now only behind di Grassi (12)

- Excluding Season 1 (where every team used the same powertrain), São Paulo was only the second E-Prix in which a powertrain manufacturer locked-out the podium - with Jaguar achieving the feat with a 1-2-3. The only other occasion was Race 2 in Berlin, Season 8, which saw Mercedes-powered cars finish 1-2-3-4

- Evans and Cassidy claimed the first New Zealander double podium. One of Evans or Cassidy has now scored in the last eight races, which equals the nation’s best consecutive points streak. The current longest scoring is set by British drivers who have scored points in the last 92 races, having last failed to score at the Season 2 Punta del Este E-Prix

- Jaguar had two of their cars on the podium for only the  second time in their history (it also happened at Rome, Season 7 but they didn't win that race)


Points anomalies

- For the first time in Formula E, only five teams picked up points across the race, with each of the five teams having both of their drivers finish in the top ten

- The biggest gap between two teams in the Teams’ table is between NEOM McLaren and Mahindra Racing in sixth and seventh (46). The top six teams have picked up 89.5% of the points so far in Season 9. Back in Season 7 the top six teams only accounted for 63.6% of the total points scored (which was the lowest percentage of any season)

Andretti agony

- São Paulo is the second of 29 cities in which Avalanche Andretti have not scored points. The other is Bern, where the Andrettis finished in 11th and 12th in the only visit back in Season 5

- With the team not scoring in Brazil, Avalanche Andretti's 13-race scoring streak ended. The current longest streak on the grid is now held by Envision Racing, with the team having scored points in the last 12 E-Prix