FACTS AND STATS: Formula E's first race and China's record holders

Join Formula E

Sign in or create your Formula E account

It's quick, easy and free to sign up

You'll get access to:

  • Helmet

    News. Analysis. Exclusive Features

  • Schedule

    Priority Booking. Early Bird Pricing

  • Trophy

    Competitions. Discounts. Experiences

  • Podium

    Predict. Vote. Win.


You will need to sign in or create a Formula E account.

FACTS AND STATS: Formula E's first race and China's record holders

On Formula E's return to China, here's Shanghai in numbers.

Beijing Formula E Season 1 2015

- Formula E will return to China, with a double-header around Shanghai. Shanghai will be the fourth Chinese city to have hosted a Formula E race (after Beijing, Hong Kong and Sanya)

- Two Chinese drivers have raced in Formula E, Ho-Ping Tung and Ma Qing Hua. Tung competed in three races in Season 1 and Ma raced for Team Aguri, Techeetah and NIO for a total 14 races between Season 2 and Season 6. Both drivers had a best finish of 11th place

WATCH: How to watch every race of Formula E Season 10

- Beijing hosted the first Formula E race back in 2014. Three drivers who took part in that race are still on the Season 10 grid (Lucas di Grassi, Sebastien Buemi and Sam Bird)

- Along with those three drivers, Daniel Abt, Jerome d’Ambrosio and Nelson Piquet are the only other three drivers to have raced all three Formula E races in China

- No driver has managed to out qualify their teammate in all three races in China (only Frijns, da Costa and Vergne have managed it in both of the last two visits to China)


- The three drivers that stood on the podium on the last visit to China in Sanya (Jean-Eric Vergne, Oliver Rowland and Antonio Felix da Costa) also all stood on the podium in the most recent race weekend in Berlin

- Shanghai becomes the tenth Asian city to have hosted a Formula E race (which ties Europe as the continent with the most cities to have hosted a race)

HISTORY: A decade of Formula E from idea on a napkin to the world's leading electric race series

- Lucas di Grassi is the only driver to have claimed two podiums in China (winning the Season 1 Beijing E-Prix and finishing second in Season 2 in Beijing)

- This also makes di Grassi the highest scoring driver in China, with 43 points


- The Season 2 Beijing E-Prix, saw the first Formula E hat-trick with Sebastien Buemi claiming pole position, fastest lap and the race win

- The Season 2 Beijing E-Prix was also the first Formula E race to be won by over 10 seconds. Since then, another six races have been won by over 10 seconds (the most recent being the opening race in Diriyah this season)

- Since the last visit to China, Jaguar TCS Racing have scored 1,097 points and are the only team to have scored over 1,000 points since the visit to Sanya

Season 5, Round 6, Sanya (FULL RACE) - gated

- The winner in China has always come from the front row (pole in Season 2 and second on the grid in Season 1 and Season 5). However, this could change with the last five winners in Season 10 all having started outside the front row on the grid.

- The Shanghai E-Prix layout being used is 3.051 kilometres in length and will be the seventh Formula E circuit over 3 kilometres in length

- In the Season 5 Sanya E-Prix Sebastien Buemi started from the pit lane, but managed to finish in eighth place, which is the most positions gained in a race in China

PREVIEW: The 2024 Shanghai E-Prix

- Jean-Eric Vergne is currently the only driver to have finished in the top 10 in each of the last five races in Season 10

- Pascal Wehrlein is the only driver to have qualified in the top ten in every race in Season 10

- Wehrlein has also outqualified da Costa for the last 12 races in a row. If he out qualifies his teammate in the first race in Shanghai, he will tie the record for the longest out qualifying streak (tied with Buemi and Dennis)