HOME HEROES: Who are Formula E's home winners?

Join Formula E

Sign in or create your Formula E account

It's quick, easy and free to sign up

You'll get access to:

  • Helmet

    News. Analysis. Exclusive Features

  • Schedule

    Priority Booking. Early Bird Pricing

  • Trophy

    Competitions. Discounts. Experiences

  • Podium

    Predict. Vote. Win.


You will need to sign in or create a Formula E account.

HOME HEROES: Who are Formula E's home winners?

For most drivers, winning your home race is a dream. Feeling the support of the passionate local crowd and having your friends and family present is bound to make it a victory you'll never forget. But how often has that happened in the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship? Here are the drivers that have done just that.


Jake Dennis

Standing on the podium's top step at your home race once is good enough for many. However, Avalanche Andretti's Jake Dennis has managed it twice! During his visits to the London E-Prix in Seasons 7 and 8, Dennis won the first race of both respective double headers. 

In Season 7, Dennis came home some five seconds clear of best-of-the-rest Nyck de Vries in the Mercedes-EQ Silver Arrow 01. A year later, he led lights-to-flag in dominant fashion - fending off another then-Mercedes driver in Stoffel Vandoorne

Racing around the half indoor-half outdoor circuit, Dennis managed to fight off some tough competition to get a win on home soil to double up and make it to the top step in two consecutive seasons - can he make it three in a row for Season 9? Time will tell but the Brit is well-placed in the Andretti Motorsport-run Porsche 99X Electric Gen3, with a win already under his belt in Mexico City.

Dennis dominant on way to SABIC London E-Prix Round 13 win as Vandoorne  pulls gap

Alex Lynn

Representing Mahindra Racing, Alex Lynn made it back-to-back British winners during the London E-Prix weekend in Season 7. Joining Dennis on the podium for Saturday's race, Lynn then got his hands on the winner's trophy himself just 24 hours later and sparked absolute pandemonium in the Mahindra garages, with the Anglo-Indian team celebrating in style.

His win around the ExCel Arena was not only a home victory but his first and only win in the Formula E championship! An excellent way to do it.

Lynn was finally able to uncork the winner's Moet & Chandon in Formula E four years after lining up for his debut E-Prix on pole position in New York City - and just a stone's throw from his birthplace in Romford; that winners' champagne must have tasted doubly sweet.

Alex Lynn seals emotional maiden Formula E win in frenetic Round 13 on home soil in London 

In typical fashion, tnen-Team Principal Dilbagh Gill struggled to contain his delight as the chequered flag fell and headed straight to the pit-lane to celebrate with Formula E Co-founder Alberto Longo as the pair embraced in a suplex.

Sam Bird

Having been a part of Formula E since its inaugural season, Jaguar TCS Racing's Sam Bird has had plenty of opportunities to lock in a home win. Nevertheless, he didn't need it, as he won the London E-Prix in Formula E's very first season. 

Navigating himself around the picturesque Battersea Park in England's capital, Bird won the final round of Season 1 in 2015. Repping Virgin Racing at the time, the Briton - born not at all far away in Roehampton - ended his maiden season on a high! 

Sam Bird wins the first London E Prix Formula E in Battersea Park

Daniel Abt

When Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler's Daniel Abt rocked up to Berlin's historic Tempelhof Airport Street Circuit in Season 4, it looked like nothing would be able to stop him from winning. Having achieved his maiden victory four races before in Mexico City, Abt was ready to repeat his success at his and Audi's home race. 

Berlin has long been a kingmaker in Formula E. Champions have been crowned and records have been broken and the championship's first Grand Slam came Abt's way as he signed off a career-defining perfect race weekend with a commanding lights-to-flag win on home soil, having also claimed pole position and the fastest lap – a then-unique feat in Formula E, though Antonio Felix da Costa (DS TECHEETAH) achieved the same feat in Berlin on his way to the title in 2020.


Jean-Eric Vergne

Current DS PENSKE driver Jean-Eric Vergne also stood on the podium's top step at his home race in Season 4. Speeding around the streets of Paris, the Frenchman locked in pole position and converted it into the win for the 2018 event. It wasn't easy, though, as Vergne, Bird, and Andre Lotterer were just half a second apart when they made their mandatory car swap midway through the race! Vergne held the lead and described the win as the "most emotional" of his career. 

"Honestly, when I passed the chequered flag, I had like a chemical reaction - I couldn't talk," he said. “It was clearly my most emotional win, by far. If there was a race I wanted to win, it was clearly Paris. To have done in such a way today with pole position and a race win was absolutely amazing. I couldn’t be happier, especially as it was my birthday this week."

JEV and his Techeetah were a strong pairing, and Vergne would win the Drivers' Championship later that season. 

Vergne Paris win Formula E

Maximilian Guenther

Maserati MSG Racing's Maximilian Guenther won on home soil during Season 6 of the all-electric championship during his time racing for BMW i Andretti Motorsport. As part of the six Berlin races hosted at the Tempelhof airport during the pandemic, Guenther stormed to victory and passed Vergne for first place with just four minutes left on the clock! 

It was a nail-biting end to the Berlin E-Prix, especially with his team requesting that he leave the overtaking attempt until the final lap, but Guenther made it stick and joined the list of drivers who had won in front of their home support!